Australia Skilled Independent Visa Subclass 189


Australia Skilled Independent Visa Subclass 189

The Australian Skilled - Independent Visa (subclass 189) is an Australian skilled visa for skilled workers who are not sponsored by an employer, a state or territory, or a family member. ... You must score at least 60 points on the Points Test to be eligible for this visa.

Eligibility for a Skilled Independent Visa:

  • The applicant must have a relevant occupation
  • A valid skills assessment from the designated skills assessment board
  • Must meet the minimum pass mark of 65 points
  • Candidate must be under 45 years old at the time of invitation
  • Have Competent English Language skills
  • Must be invited by DHA to apply after submitting Expression of interest

The Skilled Independent Visa allows you to:

  1. Live and work in Australia as a PR holder along with the dependents. 
  2. Become a citizen of Australia within 4 years.
  3. Multiple entries to Australia in the initial five years.
  4. Renew your PR if you meet specific criteria.
  5. Enjoy many rights and privileges of citizens, including access to free or subsidized legal and health services.
  6. Sponsor family members/relatives.
  7. Apply for Australian consular assistance overseas.
  8. Get privileges to travel to New Zealand. Also, live, work, and study in New Zealand, with the approval from NZ government.
  9. Children born in Australia can obtain Australian citizenship if opted for by the parents.

In skilled Selection visa process, the applicant expresses an interest in applying for a visa under the subclass 189. Thereafter the Government reviews the applications and may invite the applicant to apply for residence.