Australia Skilled Regional Nominated Visa – Subclass 489


Australia Skilled Regional Nominated Visa – Subclass 489

Eligibility for a Skilled Regional Nominated Visa:

  • The applicant must have a relevant occupation listed on the MLTSSL or STSOL
  • Must have a valid skills assessment from the designated skills assessment board
  • Must meet the minimum pass mark of 65 points
  • Must be under 45 years old at the time of invitation
  • Must have Competent English Language skills
  • Must be invited by DHA to apply after submitting Expression of interest
  • Must be nominated by a state or territory government agency or be sponsored by an eligible relative 
  • Must be invited to apply

The Skilled Regional Nominated Visa does not grant instant Permanent Residence in Australia. Applicants are required to live and work within the Regional State that sponsored their application or within the same state in which their sponsoring family member resides for a minimum of 2 years and work for at least 12 months prior to applying for Permanent Residence.

The Skilled Regional Visa allows you to:

  • Stay in Australia upto 4 years.
  • Live, study and work in the specific region.
  • Multiple entry to Australia , as long as your visa is valid.
  • Extend or renew the Skilled Regional Nominated Visa, if you meet the specific criteria.
  • A Skilled Regional Nominated Visa is valid for up to four years and provides a pathway to apply for permanent residence.

The following areas are classified as Regional Australia and therefore are the only regions in which applicants are eligible to live and work in Australia under this subclass:

State or Territory Designated Areas

Victoria: Anywhere

South Australia: Anywhere

Northern Territory: Anywhere

Tasmania: Anywhere

Aust Capital Territory: Anywhere

Queensland Postcode: areas 4019-4028, 4037-4050, 4079-4100, 4114, 4118, 4124-4150, 4158-4168, 4180-4899 (anywhere except Brisbane metropolitan area)

Western Australia: Anywhere

New South Wales Post: areas 2311-2312, 2328-2333, 2336-2490, 2535-2551, 2575-2739, 2787-2898 (anywhere except Sydney, Newcastle, and Wollongong)

Australia operates a Skill Selection visa process where an applicant expresses an interest in applying for a visa under this subclass. Thereafter the Government will review your application and may invite you to apply for residence.